Inspiring, nurturing and supporting each child every day to develop citizens for the future.

Our School lays the foundation for a lifetime love of learning.

Welcome to Summerhill Infant School

  

Academic Year 2023-2024

As of the 4th September the school day will extend by 5 mins. This is a result of a Department of Education directive to all schools in England.

As a result please note the following change:

8.45am Doors will open and Teachers will collect children from the playgrounds.
8.55am Doors will close; any late arrivals must report to the main School Office.
8.55am The register will be taken.
8.56am Any pupil arriving after 8.55am until 9.09am will receive a L (late) code in the register.
9.10am Registration will be closed; any pupil arriving after this time will receive a U (late after registers have closed) code in the Register.
3.15pm School day ends and Teachers will bring the children to the playgrounds.

 

Term Dates: 2023-2024

Term 1: Mon, 4th Sept to Thurs, 19th Oct 2023

(Year 1 & Year 2 to return on Mon, 4th Sept, Reception A&B Groups to start on Wed, 6th Sept 2023)

Term 2: Mon, 30th Oct to Fri, 15th Dec 2023

Term 3: Wed, 3rd Jan to Fri, 9th Feb 2024

Term 4: Mon, 19th Feb to Thurs, 28th March 2024

Term 5: Mon, 15th Apr to Fri, 24th May 2024

(Mon 6th May 2024 Bank Holiday)

Term 6: Mon, 3rd June to Fri, 19th July 2024

 

INSET Days 

Friday 1st September 2023

Friday 20th October 2023

Tuesday 2nd January 2024

Monday 22nd July 2024

Tuesday 23rd July 2024

 

Term Dates: 2024-2025

Term 1: Tues 3rd Sept to Thurs 24th Oct 2024

(Year 1 & Year 2 to return on Tues 3rd Sept, Reception A&B Groups to start on Wed, 4th Sept)

Term 2: Mon 4th Nov to Fri 20th Dec 2024

Term 3: Tues 7th Jan to Fri 14th Feb 2025

Term 4: Mon 24th Feb to Fri 4th April 2025

Term 5: Tues 22nd April to Fri 23rd May 2025

(Mon 5th May 2024 Bank Holiday)

Term 6: Mon 2nd June to Fri 18th July 2025

 

INSET Days 

Monday 2nd September 2024

Friday 25th October 2024

Monday 6th January 2025

Monday 21st July 2025

Tuesday 22nd July 2025

 

 

Is my child too ill for school? It can be tricky deciding whether or not to keep your child off school when they are unwell. Please click on the below link to view government guidelines for schools around managing specific infectious diseases and NHS guidelines around other illnesses such as cough/colds/high temperature etc......

Government Guidelines & NHS Advice around children illnesses

 

 IMPORTANT MESSAGE:    Please refer to 'Latest News' for recent updates.

 

Headteacher Welcome

Welcome to Summerhill Infant School’s website. We hope to give you a flavour whilst visiting the website of why we believe we have a caring, nurturing school that places the child at the heart of all we do.

We work hard to offer each child a creative, culturally rich, stimulating and personalised curriculum. Our Staff are dedicated and highly trained ensuring each child develops a love of learning preparing them for their life-long learning journeys.

We pride ourselves on our warm, welcoming atmosphere and the positive partnerships we have with Pupils, Parents/Carers and our wider community.

If, as prospective Parents/Carers, you would like to visit the school please contact the school to arrange an appointment to see at first hand our friendly school.

We look forward to meeting you and working closely with you and your child.

Yours sincerely

Mr I De N’Yeurt

 

Looking for an Infant School?  Is your child due to start Reception in September?  I tour with small groups of Parents/Carers (children also welcome) most Thursdays at 9.50 am July - December.  Please telephone the school and book on a date.  I look forward to meeting you.